Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CUCV diesel questions

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by scotty1, Apr 8, 2002.

1. scotty1

scotty1 1/2 ton status

I am concidering getting a M1008 1ton military pickup, these of course have the 6.2 diesel. I have very little experience with these mottors and wanted to know if there are any bad items I should look out for? I would probably hook up a Banks turbo unit to get more HP out of it and want to mount up 35" tires, how bad of impact would the larger tires have? Thanks for your responses.

2. kickinasphalt383

kickinasphalt383 1/2 ton status

i wheel my M1008 with no turbo and 36" surplus humvee tires... does awesome in everything but sand. a turbo would be sweeetttt though!

3. scotty1

scotty1 1/2 ton status

What kind of lift if any do you run for your 36" tires to fit?

4. kickinasphalt383

i ran no lift w/ cut fenders and then half a year later added a 6" skyjacker lift and am now waiting for bigger and better things!

if you cut the fenders like i did the 36s will never touch even in the most twisted of positions

5. scotty1

scotty1 1/2 ton status

That is cool, I don't mind cutting fenders at all! With the 6" lift and trimmed fenders I bet you can fit 40" +.

6. kickinasphalt383

good luck with the truck if you decide to get it and let me know how it goes. it fun a$$ truck that you can beat the living crap out of, at least i have for the past 3 years!

7. René

René 1/2 ton status

The M1008 has a very short ratio in the rear axle, so you can drive large wheels without problems. I advise against a turbo, if you don’t want to modify the whole engine.

8. scotty1

scotty1 1/2 ton status