Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

CUCV Guage Cluster Tech?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by kennyw, May 5, 2007.

  1. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Has anyone here changed a CUCV gauge cluster over from dummy lights to real gauges? I am converting my CUCV to 12V and started installing a newer gauge cluster when I noticed all the gauge locations are different on the CUCV dummy lights compared to the civilian dummy lights. I'm not sure if I can get away with just swapping out the clusters and changing the sending units like on the civilian trucks?
     
  2. ccatlett1984

    ccatlett1984 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Yes you can swap out the cluster and just change out the sending units and run the wiring.
     
  3. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    The wiring is already there... I'm wondering if the plug into the back of the guage cluster is wired the same between civilian and military trucks mainly.
     
  4. ccatlett1984

    ccatlett1984 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    all of the wiring inside the truck will be stock, except for the glowplug wiring. you should be able to just plug it in.
     
  5. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Thats what I was hoping for... thanks.
     

Share This Page