Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

cummins swap, adapter or transmission?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by oneofthefewbmx, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    guys...im fixin to put a cummins in my truck here in the next few days and im not sure if it would be cost effective to spend several hundred dollars on an adapter for my th400, or just get an auto dodge tranny and put my 205 on the back of it...

    either way, im having a hard time rearching both, can you guys hook me up with places to purchase the adapter (ive already called enterprise and diesel depot)

    and if not that, which dodge tranny would i have to use to put my 205 behind it (preferrably overdrive) thank you guys in advance!!
     
  2. justiz00

    justiz00 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    ebay or crewcab59. I got mine off ebay with a trans.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    thanks...i tries ebay too...ill try to get a hold of crewcab59
     
  4. mostwanted

    mostwanted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I helped a buddy do this swap a few years back. I contacted him last night and asked him about it. He bought a bell housing adapter from cummins for a mid 80's chevy bread van with a th400 tranny. Costs about $1200 tho. You would also need a special starter. We found one local for $300, but you might be able to go to a starter specialist and tell them what you want. If you use this adapter then something will sit at an angle depending on how you set it up. Speaking for expeiriance, I would stay away from a Dodge tranny. We put a TCI built tranny behind his cummins. Let me know if you need a starter.
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,544
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    ya the 4bt cummins is ether stick or th400 . just find the setup from that. also it will need the tranny pan to go with it.
     
  6. trev1981

    trev1981 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manteca, CA
    Do you think you could put a built (TCI) 700r4 behind a 4bt cummins?
    I have been thinking about this for my 84
     
  7. justiz00

    justiz00 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Even with a full flow pump and other internal mods the 4th gear piston still lacks the surface area to hold high torque levels.
     
  8. mostwanted

    mostwanted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I wouldn't see why not. Should be the same bell housing as a 400, which would mean same adapter. The th400 adapter that I mentioned above wound up on a TCI built 350.
     
  9. Jishory

    Jishory 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    bolt on a nv5600
     
  10. trev1981

    trev1981 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manteca, CA
    I would but i drive a 10speed all day at work its nice to jump in an auto at the end of the day.
     
  11. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    wow thanks for the info guys...i dint realize i needed a special starter and pan...hmm....i thnk i may go with the a518, i know its crappy though. ill get it built after it blows up....do you guys happen to know the output shaft spline count on an a518? i know they came with 205s on them (which is what im going to use) but im sure its a different splink cound than my chevys...thanks again guys
     
  12. justiz00

    justiz00 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    You dont need a special transmission pan for it to work. The full cast pan like I have on mine is one piece with the dust cover. It replaces the inspection cover and bolts to the flywheel housing giving you 360* of retention to hold more torque. You can use a regular pan with the stock inspection cover and it will work.
     
  13. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    these are the parts you need............


    [​IMG]
     
  14. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    yea, ive seen that picture before while doin some research...is that just a regular cummins starter? also how thick is the spacer and ring that are on the flexplate? im wondering if i can somehow make the regular flywheel (becase it is thick and already bolted to the cummins) work somehow, mabey just drill new holes for the TC. what do you think?
     
  15. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    I've never heard of a special pan..........

    its a regular cummins flywheel with a steel strip to bolt the converter too........

    I believe thats a regular cummins starter, both my cummins have starters that look just like that........
     
  16. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    hmm....mabey i should just keep my th400...can you get me a size on that spacer/shim thing? thanks again
     
  17. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    Forget a TH400, it's a non locking 3 spd...... Thats like building a crazy cool K5 on Rockwells, and then sticking some 33" A/T tires on it.

    Go with a 518 or 47RH Dodge trans. Both are basically identical, minus a few updates and a new name. They have a reputation for being junk because it's silly easy to make a 12v Cummins that was always found in front of them make 800+ft lbs of torque. Put a TH400 in that spot and see how well it outlasts a 518....

    You want a lockup 4 spd auto if at all possible. You have to remember the smaller RPM and torque range of the new motor. Plus, if you are making some good hi power, nothing hits harder than hitting lockup and watching the speedo jump up that much faster.
     
  18. oneofthefewbmx

    oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, TX
    hmm....that makes sense....wow, i just changed my mind like 4 times in an hour or so...ok, so im stickin with the a518....can anyone hook me up with a spline count on the output shaft? and im assuming its the round bolt pattern for the 205 correct? does anyone know where i can get the stock a518 to np205 adapter? junkyard is pretty much useless around here....thank again....
     
  19. MaxPF

    MaxPF 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Posts:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    The 700 will easily handle the HP and torque of a 4BT. The thing I would worry about is the 4BT's output torque fluctuations, which would probably be hard on the 700's sprag, planetaries, and reaction shell. This is just a guess on my part - I have no personal experience to back this up. If I tried it I would definitely use the best upgraded internal parts available.
     
  20. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    What do you mean by torque fluctuations? and in the other thread you said you're conserned about vibrations, can you elaborate on that some. I'm finding it hard to grasp what you find to be a problem. Thanks.
     

Share This Page