Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Custom Links...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bigbluesuburban, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. bigbluesuburban

    bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Constant State of Perpetual Anger
    When I use the 'link' tool I get links that look like this...

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186081

    But I see people that can make the same link look like this...

    <clicky here>

    I want to know how to do this. Help me with my 'forum cred' I feel like such a n3Wb... LOL
     
  2. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

    Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Posts:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
    Okay, when you do the cut and paste into the little box, when it pastes into the reply box, hopefully it will highlight a section within that paste. Just type into there what you want.
     
  3. bigbluesuburban

    bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Constant State of Perpetual Anger
    OK, I am going to try now...

    ...

    DANG!!!

    Nope it ain't working. When I use the 'Insert Link' tool on the 'Reply to Thread' toolbar here is what happens...

    1. I clikc the 'Insert Link' button
    2. A little box appears that I paste the link into
    3. I hit OK
    4. The entire link appears in my reply/post and the cursor appears at the end of the link.

    I also tried to add text while I was still in the "Insert Link' dialogue box but that text was just added to the link.

    Ok, what do I do now?
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    when you insert a link, notice it puts the addy in twice.. change the second one to text you want...

    like this....

    asshats'r'us
     
  5. bigbluesuburban

    bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Constant State of Perpetual Anger
    Ok, here I go... I am going to give this a try....

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1730734#post1730734

    SOB... I just previewed this post and it didn't work. In fact I don't see where it puts the addy twice... I am so damn confused.

    When I use the 'Insert Link' button that looks like a planet earth with two links of chain in front of it, a dialogue box comes up and I paste the link into it, the link looks EXACTLY like the link appears when I preview/post it.

    I hope someone can shed some light on this for me.
     
  6. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    ok
    hilight the word, buy dubble clicking it, than click the insert link button, whatever you word or words you hilight will become the link

    like this
     
  7. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Do it this way:

    {url=www.linkylinky.com}Click here{/url}

    Just replace the "{ }" with "[ ]".
     
  8. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
  9. bigbluesuburban

    bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Constant State of Perpetual Anger
    Ok, let me try surpip's way first...

    Click_this_Link_NOW!!!

    And then Can's way...

    click this link

    ....

    HOLY CRAP!!! IT WORKS... I am now one of the cool kids... Be gone the stinch of newb... be gone with you... LOL

    Thanks guys
     
  10. draggbody

    draggbody 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus GA
  11. draggbody

    draggbody 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus GA
    it_works_but_is_there a way to keep the link working w/o using underscore for space... because if you hit spacebar, it stops the link from continuing...
     
  12. bigbluesuburban

    bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Constant State of Perpetual Anger
    Hey look at me. Now I am giving out expert advice...

    LOL

    So if you just type anything...

    for instance this

    and then highlight those words, and while the words are highlighted click the 'Insert Link" button and paste in the link. Then hit OK, and whatever you have highlighted will become the link, LIKE THIS...

    for instance this
     
  13. draggbody

    draggbody 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    columbus GA

Share This Page