Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cut off my exhaust!!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bigjblazer, Apr 11, 2002.

1. bigjblazer

bigjblazer Registered Member

Hey. I cut off my muffler and cat today, cause im too cheap to get flows, and its the loudest greatest sound EVER!!! and i only got a 305. Just thought i'd let everyone know, cause I'm so pleased with it.

2. 55Willy

55Willy 3/4 ton status

I'm sure the cops will tell ya it's good too....good for a ticket,LOL

3. bigjblazer

yeah i was worried about that after i cut it off. do you happen to know anything about the noise laws or anything?

4. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

i am not a lawyer but no cat's is illegal and noise ordinances are violated everytime you put the key in the ignition...

get some 1 chamber flows, atleast if you see the Cocheese you can let off the loud pedal and coast a bit...

5. bigjblazer

well see, what i did is left the tailpipe hangin out the back, so it looks like i still got a cat. Pretty tricky, eh?? (cocheese, HAHA thats awesome!!)

6. Blazer_Boy

Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

Noise Laws?! We don't need no stinking noise laws! I don't have $220+ dollars to spend just on mufflers. I'd rather have an MSD box or something. I have just true dual 27" glasspacks on my shortbox and sure like it. I bet straight through sounds pretty mean too. People on here are always putting us loud guys down because we're supposed to be getting pulled over. Over the years we've had three vehicles that the mufflers rusted off and haven't had a problem. I'd say all combined, probably 7 years of no mufflers. Two were Blazers /forums/images/icons/wink.gif. My dad's a cop and he says he never cares about people with loud exhaust. One headlight burned out is a pet peeve of his though.

7. 1979Jimmy