Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Cylinder honing help?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BayouBlazer88, Jul 15, 2003.

1. BayouBlazer88

BayouBlazer88 1/2 ton status

This is my first time doing it, so is there any thing I need to look out for? How fast does the drill need to go and for how long do I need to hone each cylinder?

-Also, is TDC when the cam sprocket is in the 12 o'clock position or the 6 o'clock position? I think its the 12 but the Haynes manual wasn't very clear on it. Thanks.

2. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

timing gears are typically installed with the cam gear dot facing 6, crank gear facing 12, and then of course, 6 and 6 is TDC #1

3. BayouBlazer88

sorry I didnt totally understand your reply. I know the sprockets are installed with the cam at 6 and the crank at 12. So your saying this position is also TDC for piston #1?

4. Lonnie

Lonnie 1/2 ton status

Line up the dots by placing the cam gear dot at the bottom (6 o'clock) & crank at the top (12 o'clock). This will install the cam correctly. It is #1 top dead center, but not #1 TDC compression. To get #1 TDC compression rotate 1 turn so that both dots are facing the top (12 o'clock) this is where you can install the distributor with rotor pointed at the #1 plug terminal.

5. tarussell

tarussell 1/2 ton status

If you are using a dingle-berry style hone you want to keep your drill speed down to around 500 RPM or so and do each cylinder for 30 to 45 seconds while continously creating a cross hatch pattern ( 45 degree ).Don't forget to go into and out of each cylinder while the drill is spinning .
    The lubricant is a big topic of debate among mechanics but I use 30 weight oil mixed with Marvel Mystery Oil as my lube . Good luck , Tom

6. slider