Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

D60 studs?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85mudblazin, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Anyone know where to get JUST the studs?? Every place I find that has them wont sell just the studs, you have to get the u-bolts to.
    Thanks
    -Chris
     
  2. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Call NWF
     
  3. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    got my ARP studs from ORD.

    j
     
  4. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    ORD said they wont sell just the studs, you have to buy the whole u-bolt kit which I have no use for:mad:
    Ill try NWF and see what they say.
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    NWF= Negative, he didnt even know they had studs for them, he just kept saying there 5/8" bolts:mad:


    Any other ideas??
     
  6. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
  8. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    How about contact ARP direct?

    1863 Eastman Avenue
    Ventura, CA 93003
    Hours: 7:30am - 4:30 pm PST
    email: info@arpfasteners.com
    Order Desk & Technical Support: 800.826.3045 or 805.339.2200, fax: 805.650.0742

    Specialty Products (Non Catalog Items): 805.525.1497, fax: 805.525.1441
    Sales & Marketing: 800.826.3045
     
  9. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    What about some of the axle mfg's like Dynatrac, Rockcrusher, Currie, etc?

    If you know the size, tpi, length, etc... ARP probably would be your best bet.
     
  10. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Called ARP and they said they dont carry any studs bigger then 9/16":mad:
     
  11. jolane

    jolane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    The studs I just got from ORD do not appear to be from ARP. Instead, they have a sybmol stamped into the ends, but I do not recognize it. I am at the point where I may not use my studs I just got. Haven't finalized the decision yet whether I want to use Zero rates or not. Unfortunately it appears that the studs only work with extremely thick spring packs or zero rates and regular spring packs. Not sure why they are set up this way...useless unless I go ZR's.

    Why not just use bolts? I am not sure what the advantage is of the studs. Seems Gr. 8 bolts would be more than good enough. The stock bolts are only Gr. 5.

    Joshua
     
  12. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    The bolt are my problem. I guess from them being removed and installed so many times one of the holes just stripped out on its own. So if I install a heli-coil I want to use studs so this doesnt happen again.

    But I think I am just going to re-drill and tap the holes to 3/4" and run some course B7 3/4" all thread for the studs.
     
  13. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    That sounds like a plan
     
  14. evo

    evo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    thats what i did. it fixed my problem.
     
  15. Desert Rat

    Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Posts:
    16,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tri-Valley, NorCal
    Ok, resurrecting this thread to ask a question. The bolts I have in my D60 just keep popping out of the case. What size is the stock bolt that is supposed to be in there? Is it coarse or fine? The ones I have in there are coarse and I'm wondering if they have stripped or whether I put the wrong ones in?
     
  16. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    5/8" coarse thread,

    And for 85mudblazin, I have a hardware store by me that has every size imaginable when it comes to fasteners. Let me know exactly what you want. I can mail it out ASAP if you like... (sorry, i missed the thread before)
     
  17. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Both my friend an I are using Grade 5 studs, nuts & washers from a local nuts & bolts shop, him for years and me for months now, with no issues. I just brought in the stock bolt and told him I needed 2 studs & nuts with this TPI and diameter. It was <$5


    The reason I (and most everyone I know) prefer studs over bolts is so that you can take the nuts off without threading in and out of the axle housing. This way you can take the spring on and off without risking damage to the axle housing threads..... you're just unthreading a nut from a stud.

    Mike
     
  18. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    One company you can try is Granger. They sell direct to the public.
     
  19. jays68yak

    jays68yak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    I bought a superlift kit and did not use the studs.....if anyone is interested I could sell them.


    I saw 2 broken grade 8 bolts on a d60 last weekend. Not sure what he did to break them. I still think it was from the pismo landing.
     
  20. Desert Rat

    Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Posts:
    16,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tri-Valley, NorCal
    Turned out my problem was too small of bolts after all. Apparently they were 9/16's so I swapped in 5/8 bolts and it is just fine.
     

Share This Page