Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dana 44/14 Bolt ff Ring and pinion install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sf_wood, Apr 27, 2005.

1. sf_wood

sf_wood Registered Member

does anyone know where I can get detailed instructions on how to set these up with detroit in rear and truetrack in front. All new parts! I have all the tools, but i have never done it before. Around here they want $750- just for the install! So i figured I'd try it myself. Any and all info would be greatly appreciated and helpful. Thanks.

2. clarkjw24

clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

If your asking about seting up the lockers thats the easy part. A detroit for the 14bolt just replaces the spiders and crosspins. When you remove the ring gear the carrier splits apart. Remove spiders and crosspins, send them to me and just place the detroit in the carrier. Put ring gear back and its done. The truetrac just replaces the whole carrier. Press your new bearings on and bolt the ring gear to it and your done. :xmas:

3. sf_wood

sf_wood Registered Member

what i need is how to setup gears.backlash?

4. clarkjw24

clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

Ok then, try the search feature using "setting backlash".

5. 79chevyk10

79chevyk10 1/2 ton status