Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

dana 60 ifs question

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by mudhog, Oct 31, 2003.

  1. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    my buddy has a 1 ton chevy with a ifs dana 60 it has the electronic actuator to make the front hubs lock well it went out on him and someone told him about a cable actuated devise to replace the electric one. anyone have any info on this? who makes them where to get them and such?
     
  2. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
  3. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    awesome thank you very much /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. willyswanter

    willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Posts:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Yeah it's a posi-loc, but it's not a dana 60 ifs... It's built by AAM...
     
  5. bowtiepower00

    bowtiepower00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I installed the posi-lok in my 95 K2500, and it's a nice unit and enables the use of 2-low, but when locking in the front end using the posi-lok my truck must be rolling to engage the diff. It's not usually a big deal, but if I get stuck in 2WD to the point where my truck won't move, I am unable to lock the front end. Also, I have had the cable break on me while trying to engage the front end. They sent me a new cable and said that they had a bad batch of cables and I haven't had a problem since.
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    For several years the actuators used a heater, that made a gas expand, which pushed out the actuator to engage the front diff. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif As they age they get weaker. GM now offers a different design, which will bolt up to the older trucks. It's a motor driven actuator. He might want to check with the dealer on that. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  7. bowtiepower00

    bowtiepower00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    That newer setup works well, but in addition to the mechanical actuator you have to buy a harness adapter to plug it in, and the setup gets spendy fast. Rancho used to make a "sure-shift" that did the same thing for way less money, but I'm not sure if they still do. The stock TLA's are junk, I've had more than one that lasted less than 5 engagements.
     
  8. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I get the "good buddy price" at one of the local GM dealers. My cost for the actuator and wiring adapter is about $110. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  9. bowtiepower00

    bowtiepower00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Hey, you can't beat that... /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif
     
  10. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Thats what I have on my '92 Dually and it seems to work OK for now but I have noticed that if its real cold or you are in snow, it can take some time for it to engage.
     
  11. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Do you have the gas type now? That's the one that gets weaker in cold weather, and can leave you with 2WD only if the actuator is submerged in icy water. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Or do you have the motorized one? It is supposed to always engage.
     
  12. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    My 97 is the same way. A little slow to engage, but stays engaged. Played in 2' of snow last year for two days and never had a problem. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Must be the gas one. I'll run it untill it dies.
     
  14. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I avoid snow. I found out the hard way that a dually is no snow machine. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    I sure can plow it when I have some speed up though. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  15. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    94-older should be the TLA. 95-up is the motorized version.

    If you go the GM route and upgrade to the motorized version, you could wire it through toggle switch and also get 2wd low-range. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  16. bowtiepower00

    bowtiepower00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    My 95 was TLA...
     
  17. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    OK, so what year did they quit using the TLA and put the motorized version on factory? My dad has a 98' sub with the auto trac and has never had a prob, Is this the motorized setup? I am curious because I might buy a late 90's blazer tahoe and need to know what years to avoid.
     
  18. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    95 is probably a transition year then. Newer is motorized, older is TLA.
     
  19. bowtiepower00

    bowtiepower00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I think it's safe to say that Autotrac was always motorized. I wouldn't avoid a truck based on the type of actuator it had, it's a simple swap. You should be able to tell by looking at the actuator itself, the TLA should be small and made of metal, and the motorized version should be larger and made of plastic.
     
  20. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I wouldn't turn away a truck just because of that, I want a 96' or later for the vortec motor.
     

Share This Page