Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dana 60 inner seal replacement

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BrentNClemson, Oct 29, 2002.

1. BrentNClemson

BrentNClemson Registered Member

If anyone could give me some detailed instructions on replacing the inner seal and putting new gear oil in a Dana 60 front axle I would really appreciate it. It was submerged in water for a few hours and greyish oil/grease and water is oozing out of the passenger side steering knuckle. I'm new to 4x4's but I like to fix things on my own and I was told this was probably the problem. So if anyone has any info that would be great. Thanks!
    -Brent Nelson

2. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> Well, you have to pull the cover, take out the diff carrier, then yank the seal from the inside and replace it with a new one. Sounds easy, but they're kind of a bitch to do... For more detail I'd recommend getting a good manual. Good luck!

A link to the page in the Dana manual that shows one small section on replacing the seal - http://coloradok5.com/dana60man/page39.jpg

3. Mr.Chevy4x4

Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

Dont forget you have to pull the outers apart and pull the axles.

Mike

4. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author