Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

dana axle swap (44 & 60 for 10 bolt)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mr_fujisawa, Sep 17, 2003.

1. mr_fujisawa

mr_fujisawa 1/2 ton status

i will be doing an axle swap soon, a dana 60 in the rear, dana 44 up front (4.10 ratio). anything i should know about? i read the caliper grind article for the d60. i am still new at all this so your knowledge is appreciated.
    oh yeah, it's going on an '88 k5 T700 r4 (just got the 8 lug ghetto steel junk yard rims)
    thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

Why D60 rear?

3. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

Here's the back story on this one, I've been helping Sean out a bit via PMs. He's been looking for a set of 3/4 ton axles with 4.10s and came across what was supposed to be a D44/14b combo, but turned out to be a 60 instead of a 14 bolt. I know that some people might prefer a 60 to a 14 bolt because of clearance issues so I suggested that he post to get some opinions on it.

My opinion - The 44/60 combo would work fine, the benefit of the 60 is that it has much better clearance than the 14 bolt. You can also get selectable lockers for the 60, which aren't available for a 14 bolt. The 14 bolt is stronger and much cheaper to put a regular locker in if that's what you want to do. If it were me, I would probably hold out for a 14 bolt/D44 combo only because the inexpensive locker is important to me and I don't care about a selectable rear. If I was using the truck as a DD then I might lean more towards the rear 60 so I could run an ARB. If you aren't planning on locking the axles then none of this matters to you.