Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

delay wipers??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kustom71, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. kustom71

    kustom71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Anyone ever retro-fitted 73-80 style truck with later(81-87)or any other style delay windshield wiper controls?I hate having them constanly going?? /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  2. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I dought it will work because my 76' C30 has a switch in the dash and my 85' K5 has the delay switch on the turning lever in the steering column. You would probably need a late model steering column and that would open up a whole new can of worms unless you could somehow wire it to work with the early dash switch? /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  3. 82diesel

    82diesel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    My 82 Silverado has the delay on the dash so it might be easier to switch them.
     
  4. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    84 went to column control wipers, 83 is still switch on dash

    if you swap entire cab harness then you could use 79 style delay wipers in a truck with 83-older column

    hope that helps
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Somewhere between 73-80, GM changed the wiper switch mounting setup. Say, for instance, you have an '81 delay setup, and a '73 truck. You'd have to cut the gauge bezel (black plastic) to fit it, and I believe the mounting screws are in a different location as well.

    I've seen it done, but the later dash mounted switch looks bad (I mean the dash looks bad) when the black plastic is cut up, as the holes on the earlier bezel have raised edges. IIRC, the later switch when bolted into an earlier cab will sit down and to the right from the stock one.
     
  6. jwduke

    jwduke 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ice Cream Capital of the World, IA.
    How hard is it to switch a newer ('87) one over?
     

Share This Page