Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Desktop Dyno

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Grieby54, Jun 25, 2005.

  1. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've been reading lots of threads about people messing around with a program called Desktop Dyno 2000. They say they can put in such and such specs and get some HP and Torque reading (ballpark). So I was wondering: What all does this program do? Where can I get it? Does it cost money? (If so... is there a free version of it?) I appriciate your help guys!
     
  2. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana
    Dyno 2000 is the older version that's being phased out and replaced with a newer version. The 2000 is a pretty good program to give you an idea of where an engine's powerband will be, and a rough estimate of how much HP and TQ the engine will make. Mr gasket still sells the old version. Punch in Desktop Dyno 2000 in you search engine. You can pick one up for about 25 bucks, chaep now since the new version came out which I've seen going for about 200 bucks.
     
  3. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Wow... that's pretty expensive... is there any way someone could just e-mail me the program?
     
  4. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana
    Dyno 2000

    The dyno 2000 is only like like 25 bucks. They have things in the software that doesn't let you copy it, or e-mail it. It's the NEW version that's expensive. Give me your e-mail address and I'll try.
     
  5. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  6. icer97

    icer97 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    I borrowed the CD from a friend and just put it on my computer. I think that same CD has been passed around 20 times. It says not to put it on more than one computer at a time, but it works so what the hey!
     
  7. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    haha... awesome... wanna share the love? :D
     
  8. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana
    Dyno 2000

    You've got mail. :xmas:
     
  9. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hotmail has permanently blocked the following potentially unsafe attachment(s): Dyno2000.exe (1.09 MB)

    Try sending it to bprsg@swbell.net

    didn't work on the stupid Hotmail account
     
  10. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana
    Hotmail

    I can only send it through hotmail. so you'd just get the same result. I'll try again though. :confused:
     
  11. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I think it would change though if I recieved it from my parent's account on something besides hotmail. So try that
     
  12. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    no luck :-(
     
  13. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    LongIslander... is there any way that I could give you my specs and have you plug it in and just email me the results? I'd hate to ask too much of your time though. Also... if you can could you tell me what all specs you need so that I can get them to you? Thanks!
     
  14. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana
    Dyno specs

    Sorry, I had some one drop by. Basically I need the size engine, what heads you have, carb cfm, and what cam you want.
     
  15. Grieby54

    Grieby54 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I sent an email to the guy that bored and stroked my engine for the specs... so I should be getting them soon. Is there an email addy I could drop the specs to you at?
     
  16. LongIslander26

    LongIslander26 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Park County, Montana

Share This Page