Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

detent soleniod not hooked up

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Jonny-K5, Apr 23, 2004.

1. Jonny-K5

Jonny-K5 1/2 ton status

i just put a shift kit in a th400 last night, and noticed the detent solenoid has no wire going to it. my question is, what does the thing do, will it make a difference if its not hooked up, and should i hook the new wire up to? just ignition hot? or does it go to some sensor. the tranny is a 65' so there is no smog wire.

2. 77 Mud Buddy

77 Mud Buddy 1/2 ton status

Note: I'm not a tranny expert!

To begin with the th400 does not have a detent cable or switch. What you are asking about is the electrical kick down circuit. From my knowledge there should be a switch of sorts under or conected to your accelorator pedal that sends a voltage to the kick down solinoid which makes the tranny kick down a gear. You shouldn't have a cable going to the th400.

For a little more clarification, the 700r4 is the only tranny (that I know of) with a detent cable (Just talking about chevy trannys) The detent cable controls the throtle valve in the 700 which controls how much preasure is used during shifting. ( I could have part of this explaination wrong)

None the less, your 400 does not use a detent cable or wire, Sounds like you need to get the th400 kick down switch and conect it to the solinoid.

I did a search for "th400 kick down switch" and found this link. you might be able to find a cheaper one, this is the first thing that poped up.

It's a little past 1/2 way down the page...

http://www.gzperformance.com/driveline.html

Hope this info helped / hope I answered your question.

3. 77 Mud Buddy

77 Mud Buddy 1/2 ton status

Just read your post again.