Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Detroit Diesel in Pickup?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by HerculesEngine, Feb 13, 2006.

1. HerculesEngine

HerculesEngine Newbie

Hi all- I was reffered to this site by a friend of mine; I am currently a freshman in college. Anyways, I have been interested in older trucks for quite some time (mainly any diesel powered commercial trucks from 1940s up to 1970s.) I was just curious if anyone here has ever put a Detroit in a Pickup before? I know of a couple people that put a 353T in a F250 Ford, a 453 in a Ford Bronco just to name a few. I'd love some more insight on putting one in a pickup. I was tossed between a 3208 NA Caterpillar, which is overkill for the 73 Ford 350 I was planning on putting it in, or a 353 Aluminum in something like a K20. I really think something like a 6v53 would be overkill, and a 6v71 would need some major modifications to fit under the hood of any pickup truck that I can think of. BTW- the 353 aluminum block has the back of the blower cast off, so it can be turboed, another reason for putting it in a pickup. Any insight to tranny, xfer, rear specs and anything else you can think of is appreciated.

Thanks!!

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2006
  2. MNorby

MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

3. roadnotca

roadnotca 3/4 ton status

Welcome. As you can see, we don't know from overkill.:haha:

4. ARAMP1

ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire Premium Member

5. 4xcrazy

4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

If you're referring to the actual 12.7 litre on up detroit diesel engines like whats in the OTR big rigs,,,GOOD LUCK:eek1: those engines stand nearly 5 feet tall from bottom of oil pan to valve cover:D

They are some big mo'fo's, but the power to weight ratio would be KILLER !!!

6. atho

atho 1/2 ton status