Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Detroit install....re-setup gears?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by broncoman6524, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    im going to be swappin a diff 10b into my truck soon so i can have better gears. ( yes i know 10bs suck) anyway its a lsd and i would realy like to put a detroit in the rear. like the title owuld i have to reset up my gears or can i just pop the ring rear out and install it and bam im done? lol

    for what i plan to use it for im thinkin the detroit. its my dd, auto tranny, and all i do is mud. i know it will lock up around corners if i peg it too hard:D hahaha
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Use the old gear setup as a baseline . I watched a pro do my rear , and attempted the front myself with the old gear setup ( used gears and the shims for the old carrier the gears were in onto a random carrier into my front housing ) .

    I got so close the pattern looked good in the marking compund .

    But be prepared to take it in and out if its not right . Shims are under the pressed on pinion bearing , which sucks unless you have a an old pinion bearing to grind the center on to let it slide on and off for trying the shims . And the crush sleeve takes a lot to start crushing , unless you order solid spacers . Thats why it pays to have someone do it . I let someone else do my rear .
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2006
  3. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Set the BL, then check pinion depth. Most times on a carrier swap you won't need to change the pinion depth.....but don't ever assume that without checking.
     
  4. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    sigs anyone? :haha:
     
  5. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    :eek: :blush: :shame:

    Now that's just nasty....... Silly F@gg0ts D!cKs are for chicks
     
  6. gmc4cw

    gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west chester, Pa
    this is good one too.
     
  7. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Didn't even notice that one. Good catch:haha:
     
  8. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    hahaha so from what im getting is. yes i MAY have to reset up my gears? how about just swapping whole chunks from one axle to another? like carriers and everything.
     
  9. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Not that easy
     
  10. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    care to explain why?:D hahaha i talked to a guy and he said all i needed to do was unbolt the whole center section count hte shims and whatnot. then pull out my pinion and just reinstall it into my front end...
     
  11. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    I would be willing to bet that "that guy" has no damn idea what he is talking about.

    The reason for the shims is to account for differences in all of the machiningbetween gearsets and housings.

    If you were to change axles and carriers you WILL need to completely set up the gears.

    If you change just the carrier you would most likely need to just set BL. The pinion depth should remain the same since that is to account for differences in the machining of the pinion.
     
  12. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Exactly.

    Sorry about the jokes, it was just too good to pass up.:D
     

Share This Page