Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Diagnostic Code 12, 34 what gives?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by DuneRunner, Nov 25, 2001.

  1. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    I have ran a code check and what came up was 12, and 34.
    12 is just a Diagnostic mode.
    34, could be the Manifold Absolute Pressure (MAP) sensor voltage low
    OR, MAF (Mass Air Flow) Sensor or circuit
    OR, Vacume Sensor/MAP sensor (high voltage)

    I am curious if any one has had this code come up. and if so what did they do first?
    Is it something that I can tackel on a weekend or should I take her to a shop?
    Please Some body HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks KEN

    PS, I have a Hayens Computer Control Book, that is why I know what they stand for but not what to do? [​IMG]
    (I live in CA if that matters)

    DANGIT it's not a bronco!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/kensk5>My Picts</a>
     
  2. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I just did a seach. This can explain it better then I can... KLICK
     
  3. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Thanks Dan. That helped.
    I started reading my Haynes and the factory GM book that is about 4 inches thick and I could not find much.
    I'm just going to go call NAPA Auto parts in the morning and pick their brains for a lttle while.

    Thanks again, KEN

    PS hows the Scout?

    DANGIT it's not a bronco!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/kensk5>My Picts</a>
     
  4. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Raining so I can't get to it.. Also the guy is having second thoughts on selling it.. I think he is starting to realise that the parts are worth something.. I should find out more tomorrow...Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  5. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    OK, checked out my Chevy Fuel Injection book and found a nice troubleshooting tree. I'm assuming you're testing a TBI motor without a scanner. I'll attempt to do the tree in a recognizable format. Here goes...

    Clear codes and run the engine until the "check engine" light comes on.
    Does the code 32 return?

    --NO-- No defect, no repair needed.
    --YES-- Is the EGR valve loose?

    --YES-- Replace the EGR valve.
    --NO-- Is there ported vacuum to the EGR valve?

    --NO-- Repair the vacuum supply problem as required.
    --YES-- Connect a hand-held vacuum pump to the EGR valve. If it will not hold 15 inches of vacuum then replace the EGR valve.


    Bottom Line: According to this tree, it's either the EGR valve itself OR a vacuum problem (probably a cracked vac. hose or fitting somewhere). Hope this helps..

    Ken

    <font color=blue>America--Land of the Free, Home of the Brave<font color=black>
     
  6. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    He as a 83.. No TBI........Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  7. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Thank you Dan[​IMG]

    WELL its fixed.......It was the MAP Sencor's electronic connector. It has a little tit that had broken off some time on Friday night. It worked its way loose. It was 3/4 the way out of the MAP sensor. And had I looked at it closer before I started freaking out I could have saved everyones time. Well you live and you learn. Thank you EVERYONE. For the help.

    Later, KEN [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    PS DAN, my CB radio works now[​IMG] It was the solid copper wire in the antena (sp) wire. I got a new ball also, hopefully it wont work its way loos

    DANGIT it's not a bronco!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/kensk5>My Picts</a>
     
  8. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    It is all a learning experience.. I learn something new every time I work on my truck...Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  9. Gold Rush

    Gold Rush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's about time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    David

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.extremeblazer.com>http://www.extremeblazer.com</a>
     
  10. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    YA YAA...[​IMG]

    Later KEN

    DANGIT it's not a bronco!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/kensk5>My Picts</a>
     

Share This Page