Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Did I get a virus?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mountainexplorer, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. mountainexplorer

    mountainexplorer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    4,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Wa./Ione, Wa
    Today, when I started up my computer and got online, my home page had been switched to some unkown page,a nd I got all kinds of pop ups. I changed it back to normal, but noticed all this stuff on my desktop about pop-up blockers and such... stuff that wasnt there before.

    Well, I went to get online again tonight... and it had changed the home page again! Stuff keeps popping up when it shouldn't, theres a tollbar that wasnt there before, and I keep getting all these pop-up ads about getting rid of pop-ups.

    The last straw was when I was on here in the garage and went to look at a post with pics, then the screen flashed, went non-responsive, then came back and the where the pics were became more ads.

    If I were to guess, I would reason that something got in, and created all these pop ups to continuousely occure, and at the same time, put on all these programs and offers to get rid of pop-ups. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

    How do I do away with this all?
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    download spybot and adaware run them and they should fix the problem for you /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    I like the title of this post!!! My answer was going to be, is it turning green???????
     
  4. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    I've had the same problem but only after looking at porn. Been checking out the nekkid ladies? /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    I downloaded AdAware and it cured most of the problems but I could never get the damn toolbar to go away. I ended up having to stop using IE and downloaded FireFox. It's the best browser bar none!
     
  5. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Yeah, I recommend you download and run adaware. If you already have it, download it again, and run the "check for updates" thing, then scan the machine and remove just about everything it finds. There is a chance the machine won't start after removing some things, but I've run this software on at least 100 machines and haven't had that happen yet.

    Also, make sure your computer is up to date. Go to Windowsupdate.microsoft.com and scan for updates, then install al critical updates.

    Also, be sure you're using antivirus software.
     
  6. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    [ QUOTE ]
    I've had the same problem but only after looking at porn. Been checking out the nekkid ladies? /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    I downloaded AdAware and it cured most of the problems but I could never get the damn toolbar to go away. I ended up having to stop using IE and downloaded FireFox. It's the best browser bar none!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Haha, I did that too, except I downloaded Netscape.
     
  7. 84k5

    84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2000
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    I got one of those stupid tool bars. You can find it in 'add or remove programs' and delete it that way. It will have some stupid name and be easy to find. Now...back to the porn. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  8. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    somthing similar just happened to me, no one could fix it entirely ended up buying a new copy of XP having it installed and 1 week down time.found out we had a bad virus, it ate a hole in winders exploder and couldn't be fixxed. so, drastic measures to counter drastic problems, good luck /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  9. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    WILL fix this problem everytime, search and download CWShredder program...its free and updated all the time and will FIX this.

    Also, Adaware is ok BUT it misses all kinds of stuff. Another REALLY good one that i use and it works killer is
    called BAZOOKA SPYWARE SCANNER.

    All of you, try these two programs and see what it finds...you'd be amazed. They are small and only take a minute to download.
    /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     

Share This Page