Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Did the 1978 Blazers come with Catalytic Converters?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Fiend, Nov 9, 2000.

1. Fiend

Fiend Registered Member

I just bought a 1978 Full Size Blazer - I need to have the emissions tested this month (I live in Phoenix Arizona). Did this vehicle come with a Catalytic (spell?) Converter?

2. Eric78K5

Eric78K5 1/2 ton status

Congrats on the purchase of your blazer. As far as I know, the 78's didn't have any kind of emission equipment. But I'm not an expert.

Eric78K5
    K5-Because Size Matters!

3. Bruiser

Bruiser 1/2 ton status

There is none on mine and I can't find any info that says they do. But I am not certain.

Vincent Michels
    1978 Blazer
    Bruiser (Frost white/Black top/ Light Blue interior)

4. MuleMaster

MuleMaster 1/2 ton status

No catalytic stuff on my 1978 either. Congrats on your purchase!

<font color=blue>K5 Blazer...because size DOES matter
    http://projectmule.coloradok5.com</font color=blue>

5. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

I think all GM trucks built 1975 and later with a GCVW of 6000 or less came with cats.
    -- Mike

6. Captkaos

Captkaos 1/2 ton status

Yes they did....

Like TX Mudder said, all 75-up had cats. If it says Unleaded only with the small fuel hole, then it had cats.

Chris Lucas
    http://www.captkaoscustoms.com

7. Bruiser

Bruiser 1/2 ton status

Well I don\'t know