Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Did the K30's ever come with quad shocks?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigEasy, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. BigEasy

    BigEasy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U-jeen, Oragun
    Saw an early 80's pickup yesterday with a D60, K30 badges, & quad shocks with factory top mounts. I've never seen one before but I know Chevy has done some funny things over the years. Anybody know?
     
  2. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Thats something I've never been able to find out myself either.

    I've bought and added quad brackets before but not to fit a K30. The brackets for K10's and 20's will not fit K30's as I've already checked. At least not in stock form. Maybe they did have brackets only to fit K30's but I've never seen one with them.
     
  3. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    Hmm, well if anyone finds out quads will work on a K30 tell me. I'd love to have 4 shocks to help hold up my 8K+ K30....
     
  4. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    I think you can take the stock K10/20 brackets and modify them by drilling a hole to align to a hole on the K30 frame.
    Or, just drill a hole in the K30 frame by using the K10/20 bracket as a guide/template.
     
  5. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    Wes, you'll have to look closely, but I believe GM never put dual shocks on a K30 because they won't fit at the axle end. What I'm saying is the knuckles are much larger than the D44/10bolt, and therefore the shock mount is inboard of the 1/2 & 3/4 ton location, and not enough room for duals--they would hit the springs.
    Jimbo
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I'm running the factory Quad shocks still on my 89 blazer with a D60 front and they fit with no problems. The D60 shock brackets are in the same location as the D44/10 bolt. :confused:
     
  7. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    Well then, I guess the question has been answered by someone who's done it, instead of three guys guessing. The tech here is great, just ask a question, and the answer quickly bubbles to the surface.
    Jimbo
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I don't think i answered anyones question. The question asked was if any K30 came with quad shocks. My rig is a 1989 blazer with a D60 up front but still running the factory Quad shock that the blazers had as an option. The shock brackets on the axle are in the same place as the D44/10 bolt axle though.
     
  9. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    I have a pair of brand new quad shock brackets from GM that I will get out and snap a pic of them by the K10 and 30 frames to show the positions of the holes.
    The K30 holes will be a little smaller and will not be spaced evenly like the K10 is.
     
  10. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Ok, I got pics of the quad bracket by the holes on my K30 and V10.

    Top pic is the bracket by the V10 frame. Bottom is by the K30. Look hard enough and you will see the upper hole in the shadows. Sorry for the crappy pic...the sun was behind me, obviously.

    parts 068.jpg

    parts 067.jpg
     
  11. BigEasy

    BigEasy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U-jeen, Oragun
    Holes might be spaced differently but it looks easy enough to fix. Drill 2 holes, install 4 bolts/rivets, and you're in business.
     
  12. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    Yeah, it looks like all a guy would have to do is punch two new holes.
     
  13. ChickenRammit

    ChickenRammit 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Posts:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FONTUCKY, CA
    where can i get the lower quad shock mounts at? if gm parts has em, what is the part#?
     
  14. bigblazer87

    bigblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    The lower mount is just a longer bolt and a spacer.
     
  15. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    What bigblazer87 said...
     
  16. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    I Dont get it pic?
     
  17. bigblazer87

    bigblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Mine's got the factory dual shocks, but when you order aftermarket shocks (Skyjacker at least) and specify it's for a dual application, you'll get a set of bushings that are offset and longer that take the place of the spacer. You can see them in my picture.
    [​IMG]
    (Factory setups would have a steel spacer that goes over the bolt in between the two shocks, taking place of the big red bushing that is visible here.)
     
  18. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    How much better is it to have quad shocks up front?
     
  19. bigblazer87

    bigblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Well, if you've got a big bumper/winch/plow or something heavy like that up front, it'll give a nicer ride. Honestly, mine's a street truck, so it's more for looks.
     
  20. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    If you can would you plz take some close up pics for me of both ends of the mointing of the shocks. PLZ AND thanx if you can
     

Share This Page