Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Didn't last long

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by C5K5, Aug 9, 2002.

1. C5K5

C5K5 Registered Member

Didn\'t last long

Well, had to sell it, and I just bought it last Dec. Liked the K5 a lot (my family had two while I was growing up), for size, power, look, removable top, etc, but was spending all my $$ on keeping it running instead of building a capable trail beast. It was a too big for my wife's tastes, and the 9 mpg wasn't too exciting either. Anyway, now I'm an XJ driver, and maybe I'll catch you on Jeepsunlimited.com or a trail someday...

Adam
    <font color="blue"> "Some people have a way with words. Others no have way." </font color>

2. thatK30guy

thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

Re: Didn\'t last long

Traitor! /forums/images/icons/frown.gif

3. mplogic

mplogic 1/2 ton status

Another one bites the dust! /forums/images/icons/smile.gif Sorry to hear it, but if you think you're going to save maintenence costs on a jeep you're mistaken. Those "trucks" are built for light duty use only. They do make good trail rigs but usually only after swapping all the running gear over to GM stuff. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif Unless you pick up an old non-chrystler jeep and then they are usually beat out. And parts will always be more expensive than the GM equivalent. I had to learn my lesson the hard way too as a previous Toyota owner. /forums/images/icons/frown.gif

4. Robbie6987

Robbie6987 1/2 ton status

Yeah will probally see you looking for parts here not far from know /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif

5. BIG STEVE

BIG STEVE Registered Member

The only relible parts i ever had on the jeeps i had were the sb chevy eng. that last one couldent even go to 7v
    for a big gulp with out some kind of major rebuild.