Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

diesel conversion

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bandit1, Oct 5, 2004.

1. bandit1

bandit1 Registered Member

My '94 F/S blazer has a tired 350 and i wanted to swap it with a diesel anyone have any thoughts? im going for gas mileage and power. but it is my daily driver. anyone successfully do this. any suggestions would be appreciated. keep in mind im a broke college student. how much do you think it will cost? thanks /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

If I was going to swap in a diesel it wold be a cummins! A GM 6.5 would probably be the easiest but won't compare on power, fuel economy, and longevity that the cummins posesses.

3. joez

joez 1/2 ton status

Chances are the 6.5 will get better fuel economy. It will last just as long if properly maintained, not to mention the motor wont cost 2 grand, and then need a whole bunch of fabbing. The cummins isnt the only motor out there like you think.

Just swap in a 6.5, you can find them cheap if you look. I almost bought a 94 with 100K, with the computer and all wiring for $500. Im not sure if it would be easier to swap in a mechanical 6.2/6.5 into yours because of the computer issues, or if a computer controlled one would be simpler.

4. Aquaman

Aquaman 1/2 ton status

6.5L Turbo would be nice. I will probably do this in the future. I want a turbo diesel, but a Cummins would not be economical (straight up purchase of motor, tranny adapters, fabwork, etc)... 6.5L Turbo would be nice. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

5. rjfguitar

[ QUOTE ]