Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Diesel guys help me out... dumb 18y/old

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rwright07, Dec 24, 2006.

1. rwright07

rwright07 1/2 ton status

was low on fuel and then i flexed my rig out and the fuel sloshed to the side and it starved the engine... nice work me.... went out and got 5gal diesel and put it in... wont start still after many attempts... ive been pumping the gas tons and then cranking it for 20sec or so then letting it sit for 3-4 min per advice of a mechanic friend

wtf cant i get it to start???

HELP ME PLEASE

rick

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

I'm no expert on diesel but IIRC you have to bleed the air out if you run it dry or starve it of fuel.

3. KGsK5

KGsK5 1/2 ton status

i dont remember exactly how... but its not that hard. try a search real quick and that should tell you. or there may be a sticky in teh diesel forum about this

4. chalet2506

chalet2506 1/2 ton status Premium Member

It's probably got a manual prime somewhere on it somewhere, pump it til you thing your fingers going to fall off, if it's got air in the line, you feel it pressure up when you get the air out. That's the way we used ot get our Mack straight truck going when somebody ran it low.

5. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

yup.....

First off,dont bother pumping the gas pedal--your doing NOTHING,it only moves a shaft inside the injector pump!--its not like a gas motor,that the carb's accelerator pump will shoot more gas in if you pump the pedal!..

You'll have to bleed out all the air that was sucked into the injector pump when the fuel sloshed away from the pick up tube in the fuel tank, before it will even attempt to start again..this can be done a few different ways..