Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Diesel Newbie Problems with Injector Pump

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by jolane, Oct 22, 2005.

1. jolane

jolane 1/2 ton status

Hello,
    I must start by saying that Diesels are completely new to me. I have never worked on one before today, but am very competent with Gas engines.
    I picked up a 84 CUCV M1008 last weekend. I originally wanted just the axles, but after doing a bunch of research on the 6.2L diesel, I am really wanting to do a swap in my 86 Burb. This truck has 48K on the ODO. I am not sure if it is 148K or not. The engine is complete though, sans good batteries. It has coolant, oil level is good, etc, but the engine had a next filling the valley. It was very dense, and the valey was filled up to the bottom of the manifold! I did not realize how deep the valley is until I cleaned it out today. I have no idea how long it has been sitting.
    Ok, to the problem. Today was my day to try to get it running. The truck is ~60 miles from my house, at my brothers house. It is a bit of a pain to drive out there. Anyways, I bought batteries for it, extra battery cable stuff, 6 gallons diesel, and took some tools. I first wired up the batteries, and fixed the cut wires. The engine turns over great. I then blead the fuel filter per the Haynes Diesel manual. I am getting fuel out of the filter mount (forget the name, something 80). I also drained the water from the filter holder, which was not much. I checked that fuel is coming out of the filter by disconnecting the line that goes to the injector pump. I am getting lots of fuel out during cranking.