Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

diesel swap?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by im_2gr82h8, Apr 4, 2001.

1. im_2gr82h8

im_2gr82h8 Registered Member

I have a '80 GMC Jimmy that i love to death. I have swapped the puny 350 for a olds 455 that was bored 30 over to 462 added a rv cam and some other nice extras. But now i have run into a problem, I am a student in college and working almost full time and i can no longer afford to fead my baby.

I get somewhere between 0 and 4 mpg depending on my mood. I was thinking that swaping my BB :( for a diesel would get me back into the mileage that i need to keep it.

Heres the deal i have no idea what this would take, some people have told me that i would need to install different fuel systems and brakes etc. but no one has given me a strait answer. Has anyone else done this? Or would it be a better idea to buy another k5 that is already a diesle and then swap all my mods (1 ton axels, lift,etc.) to the diesel k5?
    thanks for the help

2. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author

Let's put it this way, the money to do the swap would buy several years of gas for your current setup. [​IMG] Unless you can find someone that's giving away a good, running diesel. [​IMG]

<font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
    It's a great day to be alive...

3. OFFRDK5

OFFRDK5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Forget about doing the swap. Buy a Diesel if you want one.

SK-15
    J**P...it's whats for dinner!
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://SK-15.coloradok5.com>http://SK-15.coloradok5.com</A>
    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need any roads!

4. NewK5Guy

NewK5Guy 1/2 ton status