Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

diesel tachometer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k5blaz, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. k5blaz

    k5blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jonesborough TN.
    can somebody tell me how to hook up a tach. on a 6.2 and possibly where it's suposed to read line or if it has a red line. revlimiter seams to work well but i'd rather not blow it through the hood just yet. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. dheavychevy38

    dheavychevy38 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Algonquin,illinois
    they have special tachs that read off a band off the alt or off the injection lines you can't use a regular tach
     
  3. k5blaz

    k5blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jonesborough TN.
    I was told it hooked into the injecter pump, lines something like that is this difficult to do.
     
  4. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    most feed off the alt.

    scroll down to the diesel forum and see if there was a post there, I know there was.
     
  5. k5blaz

    k5blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jonesborough TN.
    what about redline I'm used to big disels holding on revlimiter is fine. just not sure on 6.2 n/a. hell I did'nt even know it had a revlimiter for the first 4 or 5 years i had it.
     
  6. Diesel Dan

    Diesel Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Ohio
    [ QUOTE ]
    what about redline

    [/ QUOTE ]
    3600 RPM.
    Factory ran off either alternator or tach sender that ran off the cam like a distributor. Aftermarket has units that use glued on magnets on harmonic balancer or mag pickups that read the theeth off the flywheel.
    This was covered more under the diesel forumn.
     
  7. k5blaz

    k5blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jonesborough TN.
    is redline where the limiter hits or does it hit past red.
     
  8. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,184
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    It'll run all day long at the governed limit without exploding...you're not gonna hurt it unless there isn't any oil in it. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Rene
     
  9. k5blaz

    k5blaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jonesborough TN.
    thanks alot everybody thats what I needed to know. Idid'nt think it would hurt it just wanted to be sure. thats basicaly how I drive my dump truck /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif stand on it!!!!
     
  10. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    hey TRusty how do I know if mine has its governed revlimiter still?? I was driving once going up a hill, floored it at like 65 then it downshifted into 2nd, so I was kinda scared...it revved pretty high but it felt almost like it fell of the powerband and wasnt making anymore power....so maybe that was the limiter /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  11. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,583
    Likes Received:
    945
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    My diesel feels like it runs out of fuel when it hits the govenor's limit in the injection pump(probably exactly what it does,shuts off the fuel!)or like you shut the key off,until the motor slows down enough,then it turns back on again--my TH400 makes my truck do this quite often--the electric downshift detent switch tells the tranny to go back into first gear at too high a speed if your not careful--it zooms up to 35-40 in first,then boohhhhgggggss out when the govenor kicks in,then goes into second with a lurch of power--it gets annoying somtimes--feels like it needs another gear inbetween second and first!.I have the vacuum modulater hooked direct to the vacuum pump too,that might be a factor too-- /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     

Share This Page