Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Diesel Tranny wiring.... Stand-alone??? Pleae look!

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by BigBlockBurris, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. BigBlockBurris

    BigBlockBurris 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    I am parting down a 1991 R-3500 CC truck. It has a 6.2 diesel and a 4L80-E tranny. I believe I read somewhere (I searched and could not find it) that this is a desirable setup due to the fact that the tranny has a stand alone harness. Is this true?? Please explain. Thanks in advance.

    BBB:D
     
  2. CrewCab59

    CrewCab59 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville ,TN
    Yes ,the 4l80e have a stand alone controler.The trans is a verson of the Th400 but with overdrive.The trans won't work with out controler.

    What else do you need to know?
     
  3. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    A 400 with overdrive? Is that the same as an electronic 700R4? That's what I've heard but other than an overdrive I couldn't tell you what the difference is between a 350, 400, or 700R4:doah:
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,180
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    The only thing more desirable would if it was a '91 V3500 with a 6.2, 4L80E and a NP 205. :D

    Rene
     
  5. BigBlockBurris

    BigBlockBurris 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    Thanks

    Thanks guys.

    Crewcab59,
    So this is a 100% stand alone harness. When I part the truck I should be able to remove the complete harness for future use? I guess what I am asking is that it does not need ANY input from the motor? It is 100% stand alone? The harness for the tranny is in the underhood harness loom, so I am just curious. If it is stand alone I am going to split the harnesses. Thanks

    BBB
     
  6. CrewCab59

    CrewCab59 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville ,TN
    No , the 4l80e isn't the 700R4 .The 700r4 was the replacment for the Th350 !

    The 4l80e replaced the Th400!
     
  7. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    Yep, missed it again:doah:

    It's the 4l60 I was thinking of. All I had to do was look at the cover of the ATSG THM 700-R manual I bought :rolleyes: Maybe I'll crack it again but last time I got such a headache:bow::haha:
     
  8. CrewCab59

    CrewCab59 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville ,TN
    Yes,
    You can remove the controler ,it setting behind the glove box.
     
  9. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    Ok, then I have a question along these same lines: I recently traded for a 1991 crew cab 2wd pu with a 5.7 and a 4l80e. Is my 4l80e a stand alone harness, or is it part of the tbi harness? If it's part of the tbi harness, where is the vss? Can I (hopefully) just remove the tailhousing and install the spacer and adapter and my 205?
    Thanks, Jimbo
     
  10. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    On the gas motors the computer for the tranny is going to be integrated in with the TBI stuff...
     
  11. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    That's what I thought. So, where's the VSS? I have a core 4l80 out of a 96, and there is no VSS on the tailhousing; is my 91 4l80 VSS internal also?

    Can I remove the tailhousing and install the spacer/adapter and 205 and be good?

    Thanks, Jimbo
     
  12. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    If VSS is related to the speedometer it should be in the tailhousing of the tcase.
     
  13. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    The 4L80E computer requires input frm the throttle position senson (TPS), the VSS and engine RPM.
     

Share This Page