Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

diesels?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 83' k5, Jan 31, 2006.

1. 83' k5

83' k5 Registered Member

I have an 83 k5 that i am basically redoing the whole thing and i was thinking about either putting a 454 in it or maybe a 6.2 diesel. i will probably end up with 40" iroks. I am new to the whole scene and i am still young so i have a lot to learn. so if i say something stupid please excuse me.

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

what do you want to do with it?

6.2 vs 454 is two very different things.

6.2L:
    Pros:
    -Mileage
    -Low rpm torque peak
    Cons:
    -power, stock form is less power than a 350...
    -cost to build

454:
    Pros:
    -POWER
    -good torque
    Cons:
    -mileage
    -cost to build

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Daily driver and mileage matters...6.2

Rock crawler...6.2 or the 454 if it's injected ($$)

Mud warrior...454

They're both very good at what they do, but they both 'do' very different things.

Rene

4. trailblazr81

trailblazr81 1/2 ton status

I would go 454... Unless you turbo the 6.2 Banks is a great place to get Diesel performance parts.

You could build a 383 to have good torque and HP to spin the 40" Iroks and have less weight than a 454. Probly be cheaper too.

5. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

Big Blocks have come a long way but you could definetally build a 383 cheaper than a Big Block unless you luck into cheap parts.

6. TX_GLADIATOR

TX_GLADIATOR Registered Member

Bb

FOR ME POWER I RUN THE BB IN MY RIG. BUT MY DD IS A DEISLE:wink1:

7. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

I'd build a turbo'd 6.2 if it was me, but I would try and stay away from banks. I don't like Banks.