Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Disabling VATS w/o VIN or key?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by derek2002, Nov 18, 2000.

  1. derek2002

    derek2002 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midland, Michigan USA
    Does anybody know how I could disable the VATS on a 1987 350TPI with the original chip and computer? I cant get my hands on the VIN or one of the original keys. If anybody can help me or know of someone to contact, please let me know. TIA!!!

    Late,

    -Derek
    1986 3/4 Ton & 1987 Blazer Project
    http://www.4chevy.com
     
  2. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I belive you will have to have a new chip burned to disable it. I had a bud just put the TPI on his 72 and I know he had to have the chip burned to work with his motor and I belive they killed the vats at the same time.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/
     
  3. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
  4. derek2002

    derek2002 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midland, Michigan USA
    DBLAZER-
    I have the complete wiring harness from the donor car... Let me know. Thanks!

    Later,

    -Derek
    1986 3/4 Ton & 1987 Blazer Project
    http://www.4chevy.com
     
  5. edeslaur

    edeslaur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Derek,

    VATS is part of the chip & you will need a replacement chip to resolve it. I don't believe the aftermarket chips remove this, though I could be wrong.

    Go to http://www.diy-efi.org/gmecm/ and download the (big) archive. Search for "VATS RATS" which was a sizeable thread on VATs and the removal therof.

    Howell, Jet Performance, Hypertech would be other possible solutions.

    I'm still getting my one big toe wet, so that's all the info I have.

    Good luck,

    ERic D
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    The VATS is disabled if you have an aftermarket chip burnt........or is that burned [​IMG]. We had to have a custom chip burnt for my 406 because of the motor size, cam and 24 lb injectors, and first cut the dude forgot to disable VATS, fixed it and no problemo.........costs around $100 for a new custom chip too.

    <font color=black>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com
     
  7. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    I normally bypass the vats when I am adding an alarm with a remote start system. I bypass it at the steering colum with the corect resister. Ill send you the info that I have on monday. Do you have a fax number????? Let me know.

    [​IMG]
    http://dblazer.coloradok5.com
     

Share This Page