Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

dispute over military hummer vs. my truck

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by oneofthefewbmx, Nov 18, 2005.

1. oneofthefewbmx

oneofthefewbmx 1/2 ton status

me and my friend are having a discussion over the capability of a humvee vs my truck. my truck consists of an 86 chevy p/u longbed w/ a built 383 roller vortec motor w/ full msd and truck avenger carb. th400 tranny, 208, 14 ff detroit 4.56, d60 lockrite 4.56 crossover steering, 39 in boggers, bds suspension lift w/ ord reverse shackles, hill offroad extended shackles in the front w/ zero rate that moved the axle forward 1.5 inches. relocated rear shocks, and a mile marker hydraulic winch off a humvee (i used to be a humvee mechanic). when we say hmvee we mean the gen 1 hummer w/ the 6.2 diesel. please inform us on why one would be better than the other. pros and cons. thanks alot.

2. 2Dogs

2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

The truck would be superior in every way except for possibly higher COG.

Edit: ditch the carb and my statement stands :wink1:

3. cbbr

cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

You can beat him in a drag race. :D

4. txfiremank5

txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

I think the hummers are pretty good for a stock form vehicle.. for certain types of uses, but they certainly are no match for a well built rig. Not even close.

5. camok5

camok5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Well if you dont have a snorkle he would beat you in a under water race. :D

6. monster man

monster man 1/2 ton status

the 3 features that would make me keep a HMMWV over a built truck are the CTIS, low center of gravity, and high center clearance. Otherwise there's just way too many drawbacks.

Easily high-centered, too wide for trails, too heavy, too slow, too low, no lifts, costly to buy AND maintain