Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

distributer ground?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bryguy00b, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    wear is it? thats the last thing i can think of as to why im not getting spark..
     
  2. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    The distributor housing is the ground. Did you replace the whole distributor? If so check the coil. I just got mine back together and it had a defective coil.
    Bill
     
  3. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    there is a power wire that might not be plugged in. on the plugins on the cap, its the back on closest to the driver. check to see if you have voltage when the key is on /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yea..12 volts to the coil right? on mine its a red wire..plugs in wear it says "batt"..yea i get 12 V there if thats what ur talking about.. then behind it theres that big plug that plugs in..
     
  5. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    what came with the new distributor that you bought?
    did you replace the coil?
    do you have the button under the coil?
    replace the module?
    rotor good?
    if you were closer id let you borrow my distributor that has new everything to see if the dis is the prob /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  6. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    no i havnt even bought one yet but im about to..i swaped the cap/coil and roter from my dads truck on there, modual was tested..and so was the pick up...both tested fine...and i had 2 different moduals on there to..nothins workin and yea the button is on there..
     
  7. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    if everything is hooked up and tested fine then /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
    take the entire distributor out of your dads truck and try it, there might be something we both are missing.
     
  8. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    well i dont wana mess wiht hsi truck...its runnin good and i dont wana F with it /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif maybe ill take the one from my blazer...or ill just go buy a new one..
     
  9. GMCLegacy

    GMCLegacy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Posts:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Haven, MI
    i have seen the testers pass a bad ignition module at part stores.
     
  10. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Is this your 86? If so, it probably has ESC. Your best bet in this case is going to be to remove all that worthless crap and put a regular 4 pin HEI in it. ESC is a worthless system that GM installed on 305s that consists of a knock sensor, a little computer module, and a 5 pin distributor module and extra plug.

    I had it short out on my 84 years ago and it drove me nuts trying to figure out WTF was going on. I ended up getting another distributor, not knowing even what ESC was, but the new one didn't have a hookup for it. Turned out that the ESC was the problem all along.

    In short, get yourself a regular distributor. When I was 16, I'd payed $35 for one from a junkyard. It seemed a little bit expensive for used equipment, but it got me going, which worked great for me.
     
  11. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yes the 86..im not sure if this has a knock sensor or not..it did have a 305 origionally but was swapped out for a 350

    and yea that guy at autozone seemed a little doofy so...i dunno..ill take the one form my dads truck and see what she does..
     
  12. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I know it had a 305 originally. Every 82-86 gasolone powered 1/2 ton Chevy truck had a 305 from the factory. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    [ QUOTE ]
    i have seen the testers pass a bad ignition module at part stores.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i have too. left me stuck on the side of the road more than once.
     
  14. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    i second getting rid of the ESC.
     
  15. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    huh...really..knew fact! /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page