Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Do Blazers need crossmember mods w/Doubler kit?

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by johnnyK5, Dec 27, 2001.

  1. johnnyK5

    johnnyK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, PA
    I have TH350/NP203. Also; since the Doubler is same length as my setup now, I need no driveline changes. - correct?

    "Baby it first, floor it second!" -correct.
    "Floor it first, baby it second!" -incorrect.
     
  2. RaisedK5

    RaisedK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    No you need to change some stuff,

    the rear shaft will be the same, and you can use the old yoke, the front shaft will have to be lengthened, and the cross member(s) will need modification. they recommend you run two crossmembers, one under the 205 and one in the stock location, but you need to have a tunnel built into the front crossmember to clear the front shaft, take a look at the Offroad Design site and it'll show you what i'm takling about, except that the pics they have on there are of the gen 1 and the gen 2 is a little different, but basically the same. I know all this b/c i have one sitting in my driveway waiting to climb into its new home. Just need my welder to come in and i'll be crawlin in 4:1.

    Leland aka RaisedK5

    "Of all the things I've lost, I think I miss my mind the most!"
    "Are the voices in my head bothering you?
     
  3. Butch

    Butch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Posts:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Depends on your lift and if you clocked it or not. Mine is clocked only 1" and I was able to clear over the front crossmember without any mods. You will need a second crossmember for the doubler adapter to attach to though. Your speedo cable will probably be too short also.

    I thought I was wrong once,
    but I was mistaken
     
  4. johnnyK5

    johnnyK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, PA
    So does ORD sell the crossmember with the channel in it?

    " IT AINT DEEP !! " -common phrase from that guy who doesn't drive to the local mudhole.
     
  5. RaisedK5

    RaisedK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Not to my knowledge, you just have to find a local welder that will do the custom work to the cross member. Or find a freind that you trust with a welder. It isn't really that hard to do. take a look at that pic on their site, its basically a chunk cut out of the crossmember, a chunk of square tube with one side cut off and a bunch of reinforement gussetting. shouldn't take but a few hours for a competant welder.

    Leland aka RaisedK5

    "Of all the things I've lost, I think I miss my mind the most!"
    "Are the voices in my head bothering you?
     
  6. johnnyK5

    johnnyK5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, PA
    Shuck's! Why can't everything be bolt on?! lol

    " IT AINT DEEP !! " -common phrase from that guy who doesn't drive to the local mudhole.
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    It is all "bolt-on" once you modify it. lol
     

Share This Page