Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Do I need to cut my frame?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SlicksInRain, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. SlicksInRain

    SlicksInRain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    From my first post I stated that I wanna jack up my truck 6 inches and what I had in mind was a suspension lift and nothing else. Does this require the cutting of the frame at all like some lifts on other trucks do? I want to do the work myself, but if cutting is required I may leave it to someone else. Also does it depend on what company I go with or is the suspension lift pretty much universial? Thanks.
     
  2. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,992
    Likes Received:
    130
    You definitely do not need to cut the frame to lift your truck. The questions you are asking have all been answered a million times.

    I would recommend buying a membership here so you can search. The things this site has to offer are well worth your money :D
     
  3. SlicksInRain

    SlicksInRain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Sorry I was afraid I would so something like that. Does anyone know how to change diesel spark plugs? :D
     
  4. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    The 25 bucks i paid for a membership was well worth it within days of having it.

    To answer your question tho. 73-87(91 for blazers) are the easiest vehicles to lift. Its basicly jacking up the truck, support everything, pull old springs, install new, tighten up ubolts, new steering arm, put in extended brake lines, might need to extend driveshafts. Very simple and straight forward.

    You wont have a problem with 6" and 38's btw, thats what i run:D
     
  5. SlicksInRain

    SlicksInRain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Did you have to extend your driveshaft and what did you do about the brake lines? Could I simply go to Auto Zone and buy more line, special order or can I stop by some speed shop?
     
  6. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
  7. SlicksInRain

    SlicksInRain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks for the info. This place has fast responce to questions!
     
  8. stockk5

    stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,033
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    quick run down... myself and my bro both have k5's w/ 350 engine 700r tranny adn 208tcase.. 6" lifts and we did not have to lengthen our driveshafts.
     
  9. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    I hope the diesel spark plug thing was a joke...
     
  10. SlicksInRain

    SlicksInRain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yes it was a joke. I know one or two things... and thats about it.
     
  11. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Basically every truck is different. Some dont need to lengthen the driveshafts with 6" while some do with only 4". You just have to put the lift on and take it from there. I installed around 6" of lift on mine and had to lengthen the rear shaft and add a cv joint. The front shaft was fine.

    You can find extended stainless steel brake lines at www.offroaddesign.com You WILL need these unless you want to rip your lines off the moment you flex.:doah:
    -Harrison
     
  12. 1982blazer

    1982blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Posts:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    I did not have to get longer brake lines and i have a six inch lift.
     
  13. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Have you flexed the suspension at all? Cause I got 4" and with longer lines I still come close to getting them tight.

    Ira
     
  14. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    I couldnt even get my stock lines back on after i did my 6", now i almost max them out at droop.
     
  15. 1982blazer

    1982blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Posts:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    Ya iv flexed it but but iv never looked at the lines while im flexed thell probably brake one day.
    I dont know how im getting away with it.
     
  16. Chevy305

    Chevy305 6 Lug 14bsf Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    11,228
    Likes Received:
    485
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    My rear brake line was a flex away from beaking when I put in my extended brake lines. It was nearly tight just sitting on level ground.

    I bought mine through Summit Racing, Skyjacker makes some nice bolt in and go brake lines.
     
  17. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Yeah, with 4" lift my brothers stock lines were completley flexed to the max.

    You may want to flex the truck and hop out to look at them. I guarantee they are tighter than saddams butt hole on execution day. It will benefit yourself and those wheeling with you to address this problem now and not have to have others spend time and effort on the trail when you lose your brakes.

    I dont mean to sound like a dick in the above statement, but nothing aggrivates me more than wheeling with someone who breaks down on the trail because of something they should have had taken care of in the driveway before the trip. Not everyone tends to be as nice as the brotherhood when helping people out on the trail.:wink1:
    -Harrison
     
  18. 1982blazer

    1982blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Posts:
    313
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tyler Texas
    I just went out and looked there is just a little bit of slack when its on level ground so i bet it gets pretty tight when its flexed. I need to go ahead and get some extended brake lines.

    edit: Also maybe the previous owner put a little bit longer lines on it
     
  19. 87BrnRsd

    87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    I figured they would be tight. Just think...fix it now before you go out and it may save you quite a bit of cursing when you are in the middle of nowhere.:D
    -Harrison
     
  20. stockk5

    stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,033
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    just go out and buy some 2wd front brake lines.. they are cheap and longer.
     

Share This Page