Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Do I need to replace axle or just the seal?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Yohinan, Dec 17, 2005.

1. Yohinan

Yohinan 1/2 ton status

Well things just seem to get worse on my truck. I found my passenger axle seal on the rear end of my 95 Suburban K1500 is shot. The drum brakes are covered in lube. So now I am wondering how do I know whether I can just replace the seal or if I have to replace one or both axles because the rearend has been run dry? I have never done the job before so this is new to me. I just moved to the San Diego area so I dont really know anyone that can help me out on the job either. Anyway I have the manual so I should be able to get this taken care of. I just dont know exactly how I know which parts I should replace. Also if you could provide a quick reply it would be appreciated. This is my only means of transportation right now. Thanks for the help. John

2. JEBSR

JEBSR 1/2 ton status

As long as you axle isn't scared where the seal seats then all you need to do is swap the seal out. Very common problem and I have rarely had to swap out axles due to not sealing.

As far as replacing the seal it is pretty easy. Pull the diff cover, remove the center pin retaining bolt and center pin, push that axle inward and the "c" clip should fall out, pull the axle out and replace the seal. Lube the new seal and be carefull not to nick it when installing the axle. Push the axle in all the way, put the "c" clip on the end of the axle, push the axle outward with your finger to seat the clip, reinstall the pin and pin retaining bolt, reinstall cover and fill with fluid. Thats all there is to it.

By the way once the pin is out do not spin the axles as your spider gears will spin out of the carrier.

3. MTBLAZER89