Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Does anyone still use 386 or 486 computers?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by HarryH3, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I have a couple of motherboards with AMD 386DX-40's. One even has a math coprocessor installed, and a whopping 32MB of RAM. (Max the board can take). I'm also gonna decommision a giant tower system that has at least 6 drive bays. It's got an AMD 486DX/133, 64MB of RAM, a 700MB (Yes, that's MEGAbyte!) drive and a 2BG drive. It also has a CD-ROM, 3.5 AND 5.25 inch floppy drives, :yikes: and a 4mm DAT backup drive. All drives are SCSI and are run off of an Adaptec SCSI Master controller. How old is this stuff? Well, the card slots take either AT cards or VESA Local Bus cards... The Diamnod Viper video card and the Adaptec card are both VLB devices and were bleeding edge when I bought 'em.

    Anyway, does anyone know of a use for any of this stuff? I'm blasting along with a 2.7 GHz P4 with 640MB of RAM now, so this old stuff needs a new home.

    I also have quite a collection of network cards, modems, sound cards, etc. that can only be used in AT slots. Maybe I should just recycle it all for the gold. :cool1:
     
  2. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    Im thinkin that recycling is your best bet, we had a 486 and tried to give it to the local school, they wouldent accept it:D , they wanted pentium 1 or better
     
  3. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    I dunno about those Newfangled 486's, I'll just stick with my Commodore 64 and 1.2 bit modem. :D
     
  4. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I haven't had a 486 since 1999 when I upgarded to an AMD k6-2 . Now I have an Athlon XP and 512mb DDR333 .

    What a 486 with a small hard drive is god for is to use as a broadband router :D
     
  5. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Build an arcade cabinet and have the coolest Doom system ever
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    My $50 Linksys WRT54G does a great job of that and uses WAY less electricity than an AT power supply would. :cool1:
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    True , but keeping stuff running and making stuff is cool too :D I actually still have mine in the closet , won't throw it out since my Dad and I worked on it .
     
  8. mtn. burb

    mtn. burb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ojai Calif.
    You might save it as a time capsule. No sarcasm, it's that 'puters are advancing so rapidly, and so affordable, I do not think many folks are collecting older equipment.
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Yep, that was pretty much my thoughts on it, but then some Linux geeks claim that Linux runs great on anything. Perhaps they've also figured out that multi-gigahertz processors and more RAM than most hard drives had just a few years ago really IS a good thing. :D

    I just wanted to make sure that the stuff was totally worthless before taking it to the recycle bin... :(

    Cheap is right! A buddy of mine just picked up a Toshiba laptop with a 1.5 GHz Celeron, 256 MB of RAM, 80 GB drive, CD-Burner/DVD Reader, HDTV style screen, onboard 54G wireless, etc. for $600. :yikes: I just picked up this Dell 2.7 GHz P4, 128 MB of RAM, 80 GB drive, and CD-Burner/DVD Reader for just $350. (Then I spent another $50 adding another 512 MB of RAM). :cool1: This things SCREAMS! :cool1:
     
  10. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    i hurd of guys who linked a bunch of 486s togeather over clocked them to hell then put them all togeather in the freezer of the beer fridge. and used it to play games and stuff, was pritty fast by the end of it.
     
  11. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    If you were closer and shipping wouldn't be so much I'd take them. I've been on a classic computer collecting spree lately. :doah:
     
  12. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    was the IBM PS2 a 386? or pre 386? :haha: I know it's a dinosaur :grin:
     
  13. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You've got a PM. :cool1:
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I think they started with a 386 model, but later ones had 486's. Swapping out a motherboard in some of the later ones, like the PS2 Model 80, was a royal PITA. I never understood their reasoning since the earlier Model 50 could be totally disassembled with NO tools in about 45 seconds. :eek1:
     

Share This Page