Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Does my MIG just suck, or is my technique all wrong?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BorregoK5, Apr 25, 2002.

1. BorregoK5

BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

I'm a newbie to this 110v MIG which I'm borrowing. I've done a bunch of buzz box welding in the past with good results, and a lot of oxy-acetlyene stuff as well... but I don't have a buzz box anymore and my gas stuff just isn't suited for what I'm doing. This MIG is a FirePower FP90, its rated to 90Amps as follows.
    80 amps @ 15% Duty Cycle 17.5 volts
    on 120v single phase 60 hertz with a 20 amp draw

60 amps @ 20% Duty Cycle 21 volts
    on 120v single phase 60 hertz with a 15 amp draw