Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Does the site seem slow to you?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by HarryH3, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    It seems like page loads take are taking longer and longer every day. I'm often waiting 30 to 60 seconds for a page to load, every time I click on a link for a thread. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif I just wondered if others are noticing this. I'm usually on in the evening, when there are a lot of people logged on. However, right now the main forum screen says that there are only 16 registered users online and 7 anonymous users.

    Perhaps the database needs to be reindexed? It just seems to be getting progressively worse. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  2. BLZN4FN

    BLZN4FN 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Posts:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Englewood Colorado
    I'm having the same problem. I have DSL and this is the only
    site that runs slow. Glad to see its not just me /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  3. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    Yep this site is slower than a hibernating 3 toe sloth. The main site is fine but I think the forums may need pruned or something cuz they load SLOW. I am on cable and the 5 other message boards I use pop right up and a few of em have several thousand users.
     
  4. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    I have dsl to and it is the same for me. Mike
     
  5. Paxx

    Paxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over Western Canada
    Mine will say its done loading with nothing loaded, then about 30 sec. ltr it will finally pop up. I've even had it not pop up at all. Just started about a week and a half ago. Maybe 2. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  6. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Me too. I posted about this in feedback a while back and didn't get any response from Steve.
     
  7. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Man you guys are never happy /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I may have to create an archive forum viewable only by Members, that way I could get rid of 1/2 millon posts from the general viewing public but they would still be available, looking into the best way to do it without throwing yet more money at it. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  8. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Its about normal for me and I'm on dial-up. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif It's never been fast fast for me, but just normal. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  9. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    That would be cool, but would it help? Is it a bandwidth problem? Or a database scallability problem?

    If it's bandwidth, I don't think the archive will help. Is the search really that popular? You sure wouldn't know it to look at most of the posts...

    If it's a database lookup and memory/disk-access/scallability kind of thing, then reducing the size of the primary database might be a good idea. Just move "old" posts to the "new forum" (as a different database? different table? no clue how these things work) and have it as a separate selectable forum in the search page? Or it could be trasparently "joined" when the search time span exceeds the "new" threshold?

    Hmmm, need more coffee..... must wake up.... sorry for the babbling...
     
  10. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Those are the issues I'm looking at right now, I do know that searching a large database does tax it quite a bit.
     
  11. BowtieRed

    BowtieRed 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winston-Salem, NC
    i had the same problem and this is what fixed it for me. . . watch the status bar, when it slows, click stop, and about half to 3/4 of the post will be loaded the click refresh and it'll finish a lot quicker. but it stopped being slow for me anyway lately. i got cable.
     
  12. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yes, i thought it was something on my end, but having DSL i was beginning to wonder. Much just be the more heavy traffic we are getting, which is good /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    Mine will say its done loading with nothing loaded, then about 30 sec. ltr it will finally pop up. I've even had it not pop up at all. Just started about a week and a half ago. Maybe 2. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    it does this to me as well i thought it was just me /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif it has been slow for me as well /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  14. docgab

    docgab 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Yup. Veeeeeeery slow. Of course it might be due to the fact that I am on 56K dial up running at 24K !! lol Every site is slow for me. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  15. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    don't forget , someone was going to jack-up everything on the internet july 4th weekend.they said it might take month's to fix it.they were only going to attack big sites. if your slow with dsl that might be it. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gifto /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  16. BOWTIE

    BOWTIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Outside with the sawzall.
    all this time i thought it just me.. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  17. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I'm on a dial up, so it is never what I would call speedy, but lately it takes 5-10 times longer to load a single forum page on CK5 than on any other forum-type site that I visit. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Does the database ever get indexed? I don't know if MySQL will let you reindex on the fly, but a large database that hasn't been indexed in some time will really get the hard drive thrashing. Reindexing the database file will make everything run much quicker (even searches). /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  18. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Yes, I do reindex at times Mom /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I will do it early tommorow. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  19. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Kewl! I sure hope it helps! I'm nodding off waiting for pages to load. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  20. rigdonhome

    rigdonhome 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Posts:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HoosierLand
    I have a cable modem and it seems fine for me. However, I am drinking heavily and watching TV while I reply to anyone who appears to be awake at this hour, so I may not be fully realizing how long it takes. Also, I left my stopwatch in the glove box of a vehicle for about 9 months, and it quit working, so I have no real concept of time now without it.

    Cheers,
    Scott
     

Share This Page