Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Does your e-brake cable hit your exhaust?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RedDwarf, May 22, 2002.

  1. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    mine is, and it's starting to annoy me. I am thinking of taking it off, though I'd rather not (I may actually fix the e-brake someday....)

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. four_by_ken

    four_by_ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Posts:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allenton, MI
    What e-brake cable? /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

    Ken H.
     
  3. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    I had this problem with custom duals on my 80 and I now have it on my custom duals 78. The 80 I made my own "loop/eye" for the cable to run though that routed it away from the exhaust as well as modify the other originals. I am planning on doing the same to the 78. I shortened and rebent some of the original "loops/eyes" that hook to the frame, and then I made one out of some round stock at the hardware store. $5.00, a little time, and trial-by-error /forums/images/icons/wink.gif and they don't rub any more on the exhaust. Since most exhausts are different, you are going to have to do some custom reworking to get yours not to hit.
     
  4. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    My K30 has "loop eyes" down the outside of the frame rail which control how the cable runs. Maybe all long beds? Not sure, never noticed before. Only reason I noticed now is that I’ve moved the rear axle way forward and I’m trying to figure out what to do with the cable. Anyway, for some reason it's riveted on so it would be a pain to get one in a “u-pull-it”. But, if you could get one or two of those things bolted to your frame, you could route pretty much where you want it.
     
  5. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    That's what I figured.

    I tracked the noise to a bad muffler actually (cheap turbo) and replaced it with a Thrush today. It sounds better.

    I still want to fix up the cable though. Guess I will have to make some of your "custom loop eyes"

    Thanks for the replies gang /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     

Share This Page