Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Door adjustment

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 86IAK5, Oct 10, 2000.

1. 86IAK5

86IAK5 Newbie

My drivers side door on the latch side has sagged enouph to cause the hinged side to rub on the fender. According to the repair manuel it can be adjusted. The bolts from the hinge to the truck need to be loosened. Can this be done with the door on or does it have to come off?? My truck has power windows and locks. If the door comes off how do I disconnect that black rubber tube with the wires inside that runs from the inside of the truck into the door?? I'm new to the world of blazers, all help is appreciated.

2. rocko

rocko 1/2 ton status

Your door can be adjusted with it on the truck.. I just did mine.. and they line up perfect with all the body lines.
    You'll need a friend to help out.. I took my fenders off to get to the door hinge bolts.. it's easier to adjust the door with it closed and fender off.
    So then you just loosen up the bolts enough to where the door is loose, then have a friend lift up on the door til it lines up with the body lines, and tighten away.
    Then you might need to adjust the door striker bolt..
    Very easy.. just use a torx bit.. big one to loosen the striker and move it up/down in/out till the door closes perfectly. Both my doors close perfect with just a small shove.
    Hope this helps.

It's better to have it and not need it. Than to need it and not have it !

3. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author