Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Doubler/Underdrive Question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by fireplug, Nov 5, 2006.

  1. fireplug

    fireplug 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Firstly please don't bother telling me to search, that is how I got to this question in the first place! :D

    I have read over the past couple of hours of searching, a couple of references to running Ford TCases or front axles by using some (all) of the doublers/underdrive cases. In none of the instances does anyone respond to the claim.

    Is this possible? More specifically for my application, would it be at all possible to use a Ford 205 case in a doubler/underdrive application?
     
  2. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    yes very easily infact. The 203 acts as an adapter to make the 31 slines from the ford t case work:D just need to specify when ordering the doubler or underdrive
     
  3. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If you use a ford T-case you need a driver drop front axle.
     
  4. Confedneck79K30

    Confedneck79K30 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    5,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA
    which in turn allows you to better know where your pumpkin be's
     
  5. fireplug

    fireplug 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Now THAT is what I was getting at. Like I said the few times this was mentioned it was either vague wording or not mentioned at all. I thought it was the only way logically, yet no one seemed concerned with the huge pita that would cause.

    I do! Cool thanks!

    Though I suppose that would make it easier to find a D60 as Fords are WAY common up here. Hmmmmm
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,188
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    A lot of the Ford D60's are hi pinion too...which is much friendlier on front driveline angles.

    Rene
     
  7. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    and the 78-79's are 32.5" spring width...just right for our trucks:p:
     
  8. fireplug

    fireplug 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Hmmm this is all getting more interesting. I guess I'll have to start scanning the classifieds for Ford too now!

    By the way, it was kinda funny while searching, to see some of you Gurus that were asking the questions that I'm now asking. 2002...so I'm nearly 5 years behind! :D
     
  9. fireplug

    fireplug 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    So are the D60's on F350's then?
     
  10. muddermilitia

    muddermilitia ThatTrazerGuy GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,742
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    NE Illinois
  11. NoReGrEtS

    NoReGrEtS 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moreno Valley,SO CAL
    How do you change the perch's on a d60? or do you link them at that point?
     

Share This Page