Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

drive shaft length

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jones, May 19, 2004.

  1. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    going from 700r4/208 to 400/208,what is the difference in shaft length?anyone?anyone?also,whats a good gear ratio for running 31's(stock height)in anticipation of getting bit by the BIG TRUCK BUG in which case 6"and 35's max?oh!84 lwb
     
  2. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
    i just did the same thing, the 400 is about 1" longer with the transfer case
     
  3. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    so, have shaft lengthened or,hey i forgot.girlfriends mom got pissed at her husband and gave his '76 3/4t. to me.it has a th350/?.i'm guessing a 203.L-L LOC-N-H-H LOC.Also has locking hubs.will that shaft work?
     
  4. bigbadchev84

    bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hermiston, Oregon
    he needs a driveline from a 208 transfer case the slip yoke goes into the t-case, not built into the driveline like the 203 or 205
     
  5. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    WHAT DO YOU MEAN?THE 400 HAS AN ADAPTER BETWEEN IT AND THE T-CASE.DUDE SAID THE ADAPTER ALONE COST NEARLY $700.ANYWAY...DRIVELINE???
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    he needs a driveline from a 208 transfer case the slip yoke goes into the t-case, not built into the driveline like the 203 or 205

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This man is correct. He's referring to the fact that you need a different style rear driveshaft to run a 208 transfer case instead of a 203.

    A transfer case adapter doesn't cost $700, that's insane. Hell, Watson's doubler adapter isn't even that expensive I don't think.
     
  7. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    You Can't determine how long a driveshaft you are going to need before you change parts, by looking at other parts. Two trucks with a 350/700/208/10b will have 2 different front driveshaft lengths. The correct way to do this is do you tranny swap then see if your stock shafts work if not have them lengthened or shortened accordingly.
     
  8. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    The adaptor is $437.12 from AA to replace a 700 with a 400 not sure if that comes with a replacement input gear or not. The 400 version 208 is a 32 spline the 700 version is 27 spline. Probably easier to look around for a 400/208 combo with the adaptor used. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  9. jones

    jones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IONIA,MI USA
    thanks for the input,guys.the 400/208 combo i've got has an adapter.however,there's a problem.upon taking the tranny to the shop tp have it checked out,they pionted out to me that the adapter(4"thick)wasn't allowing full insertion of the trans. output shaft(2.25"length as opposed to 1")into the input on the t-case.the adapter is approx. 2"to thick as it is allowing only .25"-.5" of the trans. shaft into the t-case resulting in nearly sheared splines on the trans. shaft.and that,my friends,sucks a$$! i somewhat expected problems,though,which is why i told the dude i wanted to have it inspected before i bought it.so...now it's free. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gifwhat i need is 1)a 2" adapter or 2)a longer output shaft for the trans.but with my luck,i'm probably screwed on both accounts since i have way to many attorney fees and not enough x-tra cash for the $400+ kit from AA.is there a used one floatin' around out there somewhere? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     

Share This Page