Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Driveline angle and lifts

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ike, Feb 4, 2006.

1. ike

ike Registered Member

Ive read the post regarding driveline angles. Some say keep the U joints at the same angle as eachother .. then some say shim the diff up and drop the transfercase down so the U joints point at eachother...Someone has to know this one... Im new to this fwd stuff...Im installing a 4'' bds lift and the angle of the drivelines look excessive I want to set it up right ...

When talking about lifts what is ment by " zero-rate "

If I drop the transfercase isnt that going to make a sharper angle on the front U joints???

Thanks

2. mouse

mouse 1/2 ton status

Good article on pirate: http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/PR-shaft/index.html[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][​IMG][/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Note that in the standard single-cardan shaft "match the angles" geometry the angles do not have to be the same "sign". THIS IS A COMMON MISCONCEPTION. Certainly, the most common method of achieving proper single-cardan shaft geometry is to set the transfer case output and pinion shaft centerlines parallel, thus achieving equal angles between each end of the driveshaft (pic at left). [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Normally, this is done by rotating the axle housing (with shims in a leaf-spring suspension, or with relative lengths of upper and lower control arms with a link suspension). This is because the transfer case output is usually considered pretty fixed - the only way to adjust it is to either lower the transfer case (an all around bad idea and bad deal - I speak from experience) or to tilt the engine up (raise the engine mounts) again - not a good idea).[/FONT]