Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

driveshafts on 4" lift?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by johnnieg, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. johnnieg

    johnnieg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CSU, Ft. Collins, CO
    driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    Do driveshafts need to be extended with a TC EZ-ride 4 inch lift up front and a shackle flip in the rear? I don't want to put it on and have the driveshafts crap out on me. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    you should be fine /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    most likely not just drop your t-case and you should be good to go /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    858
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    I had to get a new front shaft( cost of extending it was 30 bucks less then a whole new one) for my TC6" the rear was fine but the yoke hangs out alot!!
     
  5. Mreetz

    Mreetz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Posts:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Subs of Denver, Colorado
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    I dropped my tcase, ord zero rates, shackle flip, 4 degree shims and all is fine!!!
     
  6. backcountry

    backcountry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    You will either need to purchase a new driveshaft for the front or have it re-tubed. I'm not sure on the rear driveshaft though. I would at least check it.

    I would give either of these guys a call. http://www.4xshaft.com/

    http://www.dennysdriveshaft.com./html/contact_us.html

    I installed a 4" lift kit and ordered two new driveline from Denny's. They are sweet and smooth. Now worries at all now. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  7. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    Your driveshafts should be fine. The front won't be an issue. The rear will be the fun part. The shackle flip will force you to play with the pinion angle. It may require dropping the tcase some and also adding some degree shims under the spring packs.

    I am running 5" lift on an 85 with a 700R4/208 and I run stock shafts front and rear.

    Harley
     
  8. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA
    Re: driveshafts on 4\" lift?

    I am running stock drive shafts with a 6" lift and zero rates on my truck. Will need to get some shims for the rear driveshaft and drop your t case. With my 6 I had to take a grinder to the ears on the front but runs out great at any speed.
     

Share This Page