Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Drivetrain Question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by reddog64, Aug 19, 2001.

  1. reddog64

    reddog64 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2000
    Posts:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    I gotta question for all you guy's out there... I gotta tranny out of a suburban, the axles rear 14 bolt front 10 bolt??? I didnt know they made a front 10 bolt in 8 lug though??? what transfer case do I need to bolt to the th400 tranny???

    [image]http://www.inhomenetworking.com/images/littleblue.jpg[/image]See me at <a target="_blank" href=http://www.inhomenetworking.com/78jimmy.htm>http://www.inhomenetworking.com/78jimmy.htm</a>
     
  2. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    What case do you want to use? You can put anything you want back there, it is just a matter of using the right output spline count and adapter. What year is the trans? That will tell you what came behind it originally &amp; what will be the easiest to put back.

    Jim '80 GMC & '73 Blazer
    Tread Lightly!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.gmck5.rockcrawler.com>www.gmck5.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  3. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Yes they made 8 lug 10 bolts, that was the Dana 44 replacement. As far as the t-case you can go with a 203, 205, 208 were the most common.

    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  4. reddog64

    reddog64 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2000
    Posts:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    If it had the np208 and I want the NP205... where can i get an adaptor for it??? or is it easier to get a th400 that went with a np205... even a np203 would be fine... i liked the last np205 I had...

    [image]http://www.inhomenetworking.com/images/littleblue.jpg[/image]See me at <a target="_blank" href=http://www.inhomenetworking.com/78jimmy.htm>http://www.inhomenetworking.com/78jimmy.htm</a>
     

Share This Page