Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Drivetrain swap?

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by kenaik5, Jan 17, 2006.

1. kenaik5

kenaik5 Registered Member

I took my 72 to a local 4wd shop to see about having some rear disc brakes installed. They talked to me about future plans for the truck and after some discussion, I've decided to ditch the 1/2 ton gear and search for some 1 ton stuff to build. My 1/2 ton is already pretty built having hardened axles, lockers, and gears , so it's not going anytime real soon, so i was going to pick up some axles to build up slowly. My question is what would everybody recommend as far as axles go. I'm in no hurry for these so i would like to build them over time, but I'm new to this so I'm really not even sure what to look for in ads or junkyards? Any info appreciated

2. 70jimmy

70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    14 bolt full floater rear and Dana 60 front.

If you look around you might get lucky and score from somebody upgrading. I got my axles from a guy upgrading to rockwells and they have a detroit in the rear, welded front, upgraded shafts, 4 wheel disc, hydro steering, shaved rear, diff guard etc. so it saved me quite a bit of money and yes the front is only a 10 bolt but it was still a deal.

Just keep your eyes and ears open and start researching what trucks came with what axles! Happy hunting.

3. 4bynut

4bynut 1/2 ton status