Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Driving Techniques

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stockk5, Feb 27, 2005.

1. stockk5

stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I am new to off-roading and today i kinda got myself into a scary situation, i was going down a trail, and i knew this one part of the trail had a decent size ditch right on the inside of the turn, the trail curved downhill and had some snow on it, i knew it would be a lil tricky but i got near the ditch and my rear end started sliding in, i wasnt on the gas before i went into it but as soon as i started sliding i hit the gas and turned hard and got outta it cuz i felt as if i went all the way in i would of tipped over. i was wondering if anyone has tips or advice for situations like that to control sliding off camber and any other semi-tricky situations on trails, less gas? more gas? no brake? brake? Any tips in decending, and off camber or climbing and off-camber would definitly be helpful!

2. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

It's kind of hard to give tips on driving because every situation is slightly different. For your situation that you just had I guess it could depend on traction. IF you start to slide getting on it could just make you slide faster, or if you have traction, grab and pull you away like what happened. As far as decending I would use my engine to help keep speeds under control, just downshift into low and take it easy down hills.

3. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator