Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

dropped pitman arm, steering block? Huh?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by skelly1, Dec 16, 2002.

1. skelly1

skelly1 1/2 ton status

So I am new to the jargan. What's the dropped pitman arm look like and what about the steering block. I have bump steer with my 4" lift and the extended steering arm. And it wanders all over the road, but that's besides the point. The steering is loose and there is no adjustment left in the steering box. I can tighten it until it binds and it's still lose. Tie rod ends are tight. Has new ball joints. Crazy brake pull to the right. Has a very slight pull to the right when driving. Anybody? How much do I have to get? It has a stock steering stabilizer. It has 4" pro comp lift springs in rear, 4" rough country in the front, although it sits at least an inch higher in the front. So either the rears are really 3" lift or the fronts are 5" or more. Nevertheless, it handles and brakes horribly.

2. doctor4x4

doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

if you want help fillout your profile like at least what city and state your in

3. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status

It sounds like you need to get it aligned first...Then play with other stuff if it is needed.

4. skelly1

skelly1 1/2 ton status

OK, I updated my profile. The alignment shop had it for 3 months. I don't honestly know if they knew what they were doing, but they didn't and couldn't fix the brake pull.

5. BorregoK5

BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

You might want to check your steering box for cracks at the frame unless your running a brace. It can cause this and is a very common problem. A sticking caliper could drag the brakes as well and cause pull at the wheel. Also check your front and rear U-bolts and make sure the axle hasn't shifted.

6. skelly1