Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

DRP occured?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by southernspeed, Sep 4, 2005.

  1. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Can someone explain what this is in the WINaldl programme? Thanks.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Distributor Reference Pulse unless I'm mistaken.
     
  3. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    The DRP Occured flag comes on almost as regularly as the lean/rich flag (every few seconds). I know the lean flag should be doing that but a distributor reference pulse surely should be very regular or not at all shouldn't it?
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I just went over to thirdgen to check it out, sounds like that flag doesn't really indicate anything critical if the engine is running ok.

    I don't know about regularity though.
     
  5. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    OK thanks. I'll have to look into it a bit more just to satisfy my own curiosity! I'll run the programme on my '78 too ('90 motor in it) and see if I get the same result. Thanks.
     
  6. FWP

    FWP CRS

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    I see the exact same thing on mine, since day 1. I would say it's normal. If I was to guess, the reason it shows up on the screen, is the ECM is polling the DRP input to make sure it's there.
     

Share This Page