Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dual Battery Diagram w/ACR, Marine Switch, and Solenoid

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mini_mull, May 1, 2007.

1. mini_mull

mini_mull 1/2 ton status

Hey, I was just wondering if all the electrical gurus, *cough* ryoken or anyone else with some vehicle electrical experience could point out any mistakes, possible problems, or better solutions for the following diagram.

[​IMG]

I'm an electrical noob, but I've done some research so hopefully I'm not too far off :dunno: . I started working on this because I found the Solenoid I wanted on Ebay for almost 1/2 of the cheapest normal retail, but I'd like to figure out my system in detail before buying any other components. Any advice?

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

nice Christie.... :D

That'll work.... Couple of things for you to consider...

You might wanna run the alternator and starter wires to the "common" lug of the battery switch... This will give you the capability to run/start off 1, 2 or common without "having" to use your emergency start to parellel the system.. As of now, you can only do that off the 1 and common position..

The ACR really kinda negates this, but it will give you more redundancy...

Also, keep in mind your winch and it's cable... big stuff... I would run that right to the battery switch, unless that positive buss is going to have a big lug feed from the bat switch, then you could just run it where that feed is for the buss..