Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Dual battery setup

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by fordeater, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    I want to install a second battery in my rig cause i run KC lights and a stereo system etc.... what is the best way to run the batteries? I don't even know how i should wire them up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I already got the drivers side battery tray, and i'm gonna run dual optimas. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
  3. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    I plan on doing the same thing, i will be using a battery isolator and running all aftermarket stuff (lights,stereo, whatever else) to that second battery and keep the primary factory battery used soley for the starting purposes.
    I have been told that the dealer sells a passenger side battery tray for like $25 or so for the dual setup, going to check in to it myself.
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    i plan on using a marine switch for the batteries. the place near me want $25 for the switch. the hook up is very simple, run both positive cables to the switch and 1 cable to the starter /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I have a $5 quick disconnect. I simply disconnect my 2nd battery when I'm going to let my truck sit more than overnight. No issues with leaving it overnight and hitting the key in the morning.

    Other setups rely on switches, solenoids, or relays. I am not lazy, I just open my hood and hook it up.
     
  6. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    [ QUOTE ]


    I am not lazy, I just open my hood and hook it up.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You hit it on the head there bubba, /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif Ya see, I AM lazy, /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif i like the convenience of the automatic operation of the isolator charging the battery that needs it, and using each battery for its intended purpose, without having to pop the hood. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Tj , when you renew use the name 4xlazy /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Tj , when you renew use the name 4xlazy /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  9. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
  10. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    I am using a daul battery switch control in the cab on the dash like this. It is the big red and black thing on the dash:
    [​IMG] Makes it quite conveinent to switch up as necessary.
    Bill
     
  11. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    The search feature is your friend...

    [​IMG]

    I have a pushbutton that activates the Furd starter solenoid shown in my diagram above. It is located in the ashtray.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page